Marlon Reviews http://marlonreviews.com.au Mon, 30 Oct 2017 17:28:03 +0000 en-AU hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.9.1 How A Culture of Sustainability Will Impact The Economy http://marlonreviews.com.au/how-a-culture-of-sustainability-will-impact-the-economy/ http://marlonreviews.com.au/how-a-culture-of-sustainability-will-impact-the-economy/#respond Mon, 30 Oct 2017 17:28:03 +0000 http://marlonreviews.com.au/?p=88 How will a culture of sustainability impact our economy? I have simplified my stance on this into three distinct areas: consumption, shifting values, and job availability. Though some look at sustainability as an economic threat, I see it quite differently. I see that the free market economy will continue to operate unimpeded by green cultural values.

1. Consumption

Many people think that “going green” means turning your back on consumerism entirely. I have a completely different opinion. Consuming is what we do, as living organisms. If you look at any organisms in nature, you see that nature is all based on consumption. That might be of light, other plants, meat, or water.

Consumption never, never stops, until the organism dies. It is time to get the idea of “sustainability means the end of consumption” out of our minds. People focused on sustainability still expend energy, often in the form of money, to acquire the things that they need. The thing is, this energy exchange is completed in an entirely different way than it was done in previous times. Let’s look at five ways that a culture of sustainability will impact the economy.

2. Shifting Values Means Shifting Dollars

Money flows to the items that people value. In our current times, we are seeing a shifting of values. Individuals are becoming aware of the value of the earth: water, trees, clean air, soil, rocks, and animals. With this awareness comes a new sense of value. People who value the health of the oceans will spend more money on fish that has been rated as highly sustainable.

Years ago, the individual may not have been willing to shell out five extra dollars for sustainable caught fish. But since cultural values are shifting, so is the flow of money. The key here is that money doesn’t stop flowing, it simply goes to different items.

A massive shift in money patterns will disrupt economic stability in the short term, but it has the potential to lead to growth in the long term. In the short term, new sellers and businesses are rising up to meet the demands of customers with a new set of values. These sellers invent products, develop brands, and meet niche demands.

Other sellers, who customers no longer support, slowly lose funds and go out of business. From an economic standpoint, the best way for businesses that are losing dollars to deal with it is to find a new niche market, and pivot their focus to this new demand. As expert economist Andrew Charlton has said, the economy will always (for the foreseeable future, anyways) be based on supply and demand.

3. Sustainable Cultures Have Abundant Job Opportunities

One of the main ways that a sustainable culture will impact the economy is through the workforce. Some critics of the green movement argue that the environmental movement will kill jobs. When you think about work in a new way, this argument dissolves quickly.

Just like consumption, work is a part of life. The word work has several meanings, but the one that I like the most is one of the Old English meanings, which is to “exert creative power, be a creator”. This is a good definition because it shows that work can take many forms.

Whether you are getting compensated with money is irrelevant to the actual definition. But in our economy, work is usually though of as an action done for money. Even with our modern definition of work as an action done for money, the green movement can not logically be viewed as a movement that will take work away from people. Because people will always be consumers, and the economy runs on supply and demand, there will always be new demands that suppliers can fulfill.

Although jobs in the oil space may disappear, jobs in new spaces will open up. For example, if people drive less because they want to have a lower carbon footprint, a new niche market opens up around people who drive less. What do they need? Virtual meeting software? Better communication tools? What other resources do they need?

These three main impacts of sustainable culture on the economy work together. Consumption never ends, it only shifts. Shifting values leads to shifting dollars. With this change in the demands of the consumer, come new openings in the market. These niche market openings will be filled by people who need work. Work, in the form of jobs, will always be available.

]]>
http://marlonreviews.com.au/how-a-culture-of-sustainability-will-impact-the-economy/feed/ 0
A Review Of My Experience Using Mylestone http://marlonreviews.com.au/a-review-of-my-experience-using-mylestone/ http://marlonreviews.com.au/a-review-of-my-experience-using-mylestone/#respond Fri, 08 Sep 2017 17:17:23 +0000 http://marlonreviews.com.au/?p=77

Artificial Intelligence intrigues me, so I was excited to try out a new service through Amazon’s Alexa called Mylestone, which creates a story-memory out of photographs. The way that AI interacts with human emotion and data is very fascinating. New apps like Ask Bongo are taking on the unexplored terrain of human emotions such as friendship, love, and gossip. Dating apps are even venturing into emotionally murky areas of friendship. It can be hard to see how AI and the human emotional experience might interface, and using Mylestone was one of my first experiments with what this interface might look like.

In order to use Mylestone, I used my Amazon Echo Dot, and downloaded the Mylestone Alexia App onto my phone. Then I went to the Mylestone website, and added photos, video and audio from my phone. Next I put in some photographs from my past, and let the app do its work.

The photographs that I put into the websites were related to a trip that I took in the United States, driving through Colorado. There were also pictures of rock climbing and a specific bridge along the travel route.

What happened next was that the artificial intelligence behind the Mylestone program actually put words to my photographs in the form of a small story. Mylestone also employes several writers, so in addition to AI, there are some human minds in on the work. Mylestone delivered the story to me, and I could listen to it.

I was astounded with the details that the story included about the times and locations of my photographs. Mylestone correctly identified the state that I was in, as well as the specific bridge that I had seen. I can see how this would be helpful for archiving your traveling and keeping your memories in tact. Often we forget the small details of our trips, unless we write them down. Mylestone would take care of the details and help you keep the details of your memories alive so that you could enjoy them and even share them with others. In addition, I can see that this would be fun to share with someone else who was not on the trip with me. In effect, I could share my personal memory with anyone by simply sharing a link to an audio file. The story was sweet and wrapped all of the images into a narrative with a beginning, middle, and end.

Besides my curiosity about what the story would be like, I was curious to see how I would feel about hearing my memory rather than seeing it. I have so many photographs stored on my phone, and I wanted to know whether the experience of hearing a narrative rather than simply scrolling through my photographs would have a different impact on me. I found that it was more emotionally powerful for me to look through the photographs rather than listen to the story produced by Mylestone. Perhaps that is because of the robotic voice that the story came out in, or the slightly off wording that the story used, which I would never think of myself. Memories are very personal, and it felt off-putting to have a foreign voice and wording try to give me back my memory.

That was my own personal experience with Alexa’s Mylestone, but I am aware that others might have had a different experience. I am a very visual person, and I have always processed information best through images. Others who are more auditory might find the Mylestone app very useful and emotionally powerful. I am curious about your experience with Mylestone. If you have given it a try, please let me know how it went!

]]>
http://marlonreviews.com.au/a-review-of-my-experience-using-mylestone/feed/ 0
Why You Should Consider Hiring A Financial Planner for Your Business http://marlonreviews.com.au/why-you-should-consider-hiring-a-financial-planner-for-your-business/ http://marlonreviews.com.au/why-you-should-consider-hiring-a-financial-planner-for-your-business/#respond Wed, 02 Aug 2017 20:25:08 +0000 http://marlonreviews.com.au/?p=74 Financial planning is a subject that is vital yet not given the weight it deserves in most discussions. In fact, many businesses fail as a result of lack of financial planning and this is something that could also be used to steer the programs of a business that are geared towards growth. Women in business have been faring well but most of them are yet to understand the benefits of hiring a financial planner to help them in the management of their finances. If you are yet to start using financial planning services, here are things you could be missing.

Better coverage and lower premiums

The annual planning process involves reviewing everything that involves money including coverage and premiums. After this process, a financial planner is able to spot some of the things the business is doing wrong and what needs to be cut off. Most businesses spend a lot on premiums without the knowledge that they can access a better deal from a fairly successful company. With the help of a professional in finance, you will easily get this decision to work.

Handling prices and advising on changes

You could be spending more than is required on things like marketing or branding while neglecting other areas of your business that could help boost growth. These are some of the things you cannot see unless with the help of an expert who has worked as a professional for years. A trained financial planner will review all spending to come up with a fresh plan that cuts on unnecessary costs while creating room for the inflation of the budget that is needed to finance vital projects. Don’t risk inviting losses by working on your finances alone unless you are a trained professional in the field.

Estate planning

If you have ever thought about estate planning, you need to understand that these are things that are technical and you will be required to knock on many doors including that of an attorney. You might also be making the wrong decision under the advice of a rogue attorney, and this is the reason you need someone versed in finance to help you spot all fishy proposals that could rob you of your property later. It is the best way to make the process work as you are guaranteed success after engaging someone who possesses the right knowledge.

Reduce financial stress

If you feel that you have a heavy load to carry financially, the only way you could lift the burden is by inviting an expert to help you draft a solution to your problem. As a grace lever review pointed out, women who seek financial education are able to overcome the most excruciating challenges in the business world with their chances at success standing at a higher level than their peers. This goes to show that financial education is one of the keys you could have to open the doors of success in business, and when you lack the skills hiring an expert is the second best thing to do.

]]>
http://marlonreviews.com.au/why-you-should-consider-hiring-a-financial-planner-for-your-business/feed/ 0
3 Ways to Advance Transparency and Sustainability http://marlonreviews.com.au/3-ways-to-advance-transparency-and-sustainability/ http://marlonreviews.com.au/3-ways-to-advance-transparency-and-sustainability/#respond Thu, 25 May 2017 18:53:08 +0000 http://marlonreviews.com.au/?p=71 Corporate transparency refers to the availability of information about a company’s products, processes, human capital welfare and corporate social responsibility. It enables better collaboration with third parties. It also empowers consumers to query assertions made by companies regarding value, quality, and sustainability. Transparency is of particular importance to verify sustainability claims.

Transparency helps aggregate the overall picture to balance the sustainability efforts and the impact on the society and environment. It is especially useful to safeguard against false claims of green products and reductions in environmental footprints. It allows third parties to query the production process and location, the safety and quality of the components that go into making the product, humane treatment of workers, and how much profit the company is making from the sale of the product.

By looking at the whole sustainability picture, you can evaluate gains alongside challenges that may not be openly advertised. Organizations are increasingly looking to advance their transparency and sustainability processes as these go hand in hand. Let us look at some of the ways this can be achieved.

1. Increased reporting options both on a financial and non-financial level. It is important for businesses to adhere to the best practices recommended by sustainability reporting frameworks such as those recommended by the US Environmental Protection Agency. This enables the right information on finances, environmental and social performance to reach the right stakeholder easily. This also empowers organizations to increase their level of voluntary reporting.

Companies should invest in agile reporting frameworks aligned with their value and mission statements. Non-financial factors include market share, consumer satisfaction and environmental impact among others.

2. Enhanced corporate social responsibility (CSR) empowers firms to come up with comprehensive policies and follow through with implementation. Tracking systems are efficient. Rating and benchmarks also get better. Better CSR strategies enable a strong focus on important elements such as human rights and labor issues, health and safety, the environment and local community development.

Good CSR puts a spotlight on a company’s values and the causes it supports, its commitment to growing local communities and uplifting the quality of life of the underprivileged.

3. Improved data collection and analysis enables a company to improve customer satisfaction and environmental impact. Collecting wider patterns of data is possible. Advanced reporting functionality can easily be achieved. Big data is playing a crucial role in the types and amounts of data that can be collected and analyzed. Additionally, when a business can efficiently track its carbon emissions, they are in a better position to work on reducing the same and other wastage paths.

Transparency allows both internal and external stakeholders easy access to key information to enable quicker decision making. Sustainable businesses are expected to uphold a certain level of ethics in their operations. They guarantee leadership and promise to strengthen the societies they benefit from. It is, therefore, important for companies to employ prudent reporting practices that enable specific action to be taken to empower them to deliver a positive impact on the local community.

]]>
http://marlonreviews.com.au/3-ways-to-advance-transparency-and-sustainability/feed/ 0
ACM Group Shares Some Basic Tips on Conservation http://marlonreviews.com.au/acm-group-shares-some-basic-tips-on-conservation/ http://marlonreviews.com.au/acm-group-shares-some-basic-tips-on-conservation/#respond Fri, 13 Jan 2017 18:03:28 +0000 http://marlonreviews.com.au/?p=64 Most people want to find efficient ways to conserve energy. Conserving energy goes a long way to help our environment. We decided to ask the experts about this. Who better to ask than the ACM Group?

1) Try to avoid using your appliances during their peak times. Peak times can and do include hours 12-4Pm and 8-11Pm. Peak times add to overuse.

2) Set your water heater’s temperature at 60 degrees Celsius. Turn it off when you are not using it. Peak times for non-use include the summer.

3) Try not to use electric cookers. Try to use cookers that run on natural gas. This will cut down on your power usage in a big way. Try to cook more than one thing at a time. Cooking more than one food at once will cut down on the power. This will also reduce your bill.

4) Turn off your t.v. when you are not using it. Take this one step further. Turn off the main source of the power supply when you do this. When you simply turn off your t.v., you are still connected to the power. Your energy will still be in use, even if it is not on.

5) Reduce the water you use while washing dishes. This is something I come up short on too. Fill the sink about halfway. Wash your dishes in the sink. This will save you about 30 liters every 15 minutes. Do this even when you are simply washing a few dishes for less than 5 minutes. You are still using up water.

6) Turn off the faucet when you are not using it. This goes for those of you shaving or brushing your teeth. Allowing the water to run will only use up the supply. Water is not something you can get back once it is used. This will cut down on the water usage in your home. Your bill will see a difference too.

7) Check up on a leak right away. Leaving a leak go will add up to about 30 liters of water being used each day. Water is precious. It is time for each of use to stop taking it for granted.

You can find out more about the ACM group and facts on conservation at this link: http://acmgroup.green/green-activities/

]]>
http://marlonreviews.com.au/acm-group-shares-some-basic-tips-on-conservation/feed/ 0
Darren Pawski Reviews Financial Benefits Associated With Green Energy and Sustainable Business Practices http://marlonreviews.com.au/darren-pawski-reviews-financial-benefits-associated-with-green-energy-and-sustainable-business-practices/ http://marlonreviews.com.au/darren-pawski-reviews-financial-benefits-associated-with-green-energy-and-sustainable-business-practices/#respond Wed, 28 Sep 2016 17:42:41 +0000 http://marlonreviews.com.au/?p=60 Over the course of the past decade or so, there has been a remarkable increase in green energy and sustainability awareness among companies both large and small. As companies have become increasingly aware of the potential viability of implementing environmentally friendly business practices, more and more studies have revealed a host of economic benefits associated with green energy and sustainability.

Although much has been learned in recent years, Darren Pawski explained that certain practices have been overlooked despite offering potentially substantial financial benefits. Known for his exceptional acumen across all matters of finance, Pawski pointed out that there are innumerable benefits to the implementation of green energy and sustainable business practices that go well beyond the oft-cited reduction in energy costs and the rewards associated with the availability of fairly significant tax incentives.

Of course, ensuring operational cost reduction and taking advantage of tax incentives certainly exist as motivating factors for all kinds of companies all over the world. These benefits are also fairly well known, which is why Pawski, a longtime veteran of the finance industry, has reviewed the benefits associated with green energy and sustainability, many of which are commonly overlooked by companies when evaluating the total value generated through the implementation of these practices.

According to Pawski, companies that make the switch to green energy resources and invest in sustainable business practices are effectively mitigating the risks associated with an unpredictable future market. Traditional energy costs are on the rise and there is a great deal of uncertainty concerning the availability of the supply, making renewable, green energy resources a more stable choice that simultaneously eliminates an unpredictable future cost variable.

Vastly improved employee retention is one of the more surprising benefits stemming from the implementation of sustainable business and green energy practices. According to a number of studies, companies that adopt sustainable business practices and emphasize the importance of green energy principles also tend to enjoy a greater rate of employee retention. In fact, these companies often see an increase in overall productivity, with researchers finding that simply working for a company concerned about the greater societal good is largely responsible for the rise in productivity and employee retention rate.

 

]]>
http://marlonreviews.com.au/darren-pawski-reviews-financial-benefits-associated-with-green-energy-and-sustainable-business-practices/feed/ 0
Darren Pawski’s Opinion: Financial Services and Rising Medical Costs http://marlonreviews.com.au/darren-pawskis-opinion-financial-services-and-rising-medical-costs/ http://marlonreviews.com.au/darren-pawskis-opinion-financial-services-and-rising-medical-costs/#respond Thu, 04 Aug 2016 21:37:32 +0000 http://marlonreviews.com.au/?p=55 darren pawski businessIn today’s fast paced and increasingly expensive society, there’s no doubt that the increasing cost of healthcare is affecting citizens everywhere. Financial planning is crucial due to this, and some financial experts are speaking out about the many issues involved in today’s increasing healthcare costs.

One of the financial experts who has been outspoken about the currently high costs of medical insurance is financial expert Darren Pawski. It is his view that if that the healthcare industry could be streamlined and forced to reduce overhead, the savings could be given to consumers. For Pawski, efficiency is a major focus in allowing consumers to save more at every level. In his recent writings, Pawski has also stressed the need for more Americans to increase their savings so to avoid a crisis should an expensive medical situation arise.

Darren Pawskin has been involved in the financial services profession since 1988. He has been employed by the Commonwealth Bank and has also held senior management roles for major financial services companies in Perth. As a managing director of Synergy Financial Solutions, Pawskin is known to his colleagues for his effectiveness, professionalism and his dedication to service and ethical behavior.

Pawski is a Australian native who currently lives in Perth. He has made public service a major part of his life, and has long been an advocate for the elderly. His interest in working to improve medical services for citizens is part of his dedication to public service and to making a real difference in a complex and fast-changing society.

Finding solutions isn’t easy, but with real planning, there is hope for better and more affordable healthcare in our future.

]]>
http://marlonreviews.com.au/darren-pawskis-opinion-financial-services-and-rising-medical-costs/feed/ 0
Ironfish Reviews The Quality of Aussie Fish Stores http://marlonreviews.com.au/ironfish-reviews-the-quality-of-aussie-fish-stores/ http://marlonreviews.com.au/ironfish-reviews-the-quality-of-aussie-fish-stores/#respond Fri, 03 Jun 2016 21:51:21 +0000 http://marlonreviews.com.au/?p=49 Ironfish Review FishshopWhen you are located near the sea, it is impossible to travel the area and not find a shop packed full of all different assortments of marine life from big ocean fish to little aquarium fish, seahorses, shrimp and even coral simply because of the real estate that surrounds.

While the sea life stores in beautiful Australia are impressive and even the seafood to delightful, Ironfish Review says that in comparison to other aquarium stores such as Aquarium Depot, the shops in Australia have a few things to take from them in order to improve. One of the qualities Ironfish suggested some shops have learned that most shops haven’t is creating an atmosphere that fits the theme of the product being sold.

For most stores, it’s not too common to find a wide selection of different types of coral, which is a plus to have in any aquarium to add visual aesthetics and act as a natural shelter for fish which is an area where Aquarium Depot thrives. Ironfish review believes that by following the example of successful fish stores will bring equal or greater results to stores of lesser quality.

]]>
http://marlonreviews.com.au/ironfish-reviews-the-quality-of-aussie-fish-stores/feed/ 0
Dr. Raouf Farag And His Team Looking To Make New Health Innovations Possible http://marlonreviews.com.au/dr-raouf-farag-and-his-team-looking-to-make-new-health-innovations-possible/ http://marlonreviews.com.au/dr-raouf-farag-and-his-team-looking-to-make-new-health-innovations-possible/#respond Fri, 27 May 2016 19:59:00 +0000 http://marlonreviews.com.au/?p=45 Dr. Raouf Farag smart toiletThe further we go into the future, the more we seem to focus on sustainability and convenience. In the past, if we needed a checkup we had to get in our cars and drive a few miles to see our doctor. That includes making an appointment and sitting in the waiting room from anywhere to 30 minutes to a few hours.

A team of people working with Dr. Raouf Farag are working day and night to bring the doctor to you rather than you to the doctor. This will mean we have sustainable healthcare and extreme luxury and convenience. More houses are turning into smart homes that we can connect to our computers and our phones and control anywhere. Just imagine, a health app that connects to your toilet and sends health information to your doctor when you use it. It’s in the works today!

This smart, sustainable technology not only makes our lives easier, but also more effective. While there are a handful of people not thrilled about a smart toilet sending personal information, the positive possibilities are limitless.

]]>
http://marlonreviews.com.au/dr-raouf-farag-and-his-team-looking-to-make-new-health-innovations-possible/feed/ 0
Marlon Kobacker Reviews Efforts to Stem Impact of Climate Change on Great Barrier Reef http://marlonreviews.com.au/marlon-kobacker-reviews-efforts-to-stem-impact-of-climate-change-on-great-barrier-reef/ http://marlonreviews.com.au/marlon-kobacker-reviews-efforts-to-stem-impact-of-climate-change-on-great-barrier-reef/#respond Fri, 20 May 2016 18:37:04 +0000 http://marlonreviews.com.au/?p=42 Marlon Kobacker climate changeIn what has to be one of the greatest and most catastrophic effects of global climate change and rising ocean temperatures, the Great Barrier Reef has continued to suffer from an unparalleled bleaching event that has seen half of the northern section’s corals die off. Marlon Kobacker, a sustainable design expert who recently began a new venture known as Sustainable Future Group, notes that several projections indicate that the bleaching event is likely to continue for the next two decades as ocean temperatures continue to rise unabated.

The consequences of such a massive loss of corals from the Great Barrier Reef go well beyond the loss of a magnificent and beautiful example of ocean life, as the reef is a central component of a larger ecosystem that could be irreparably harmed by its destruction. While the situation appears to be increasingly dire, Kobacker has pointed out that the scientific community has made progress on some potential solutions to this issue of global consequence. Through a process in which new, fast-growing corals are grafted onto existing reefs, environmental scientists are hoping that they can save these critical barrier reefs before they are lost for good.

While it is indeed heartening to learn that efforts are underway to hopefully salvage these coral reefs, it is worth noting that the existence of a scientific solution does not reduce the need to also address the root cause of the problem, which is the rising ocean temperatures caused by climate change. The coral grafts represent what is likely to be a temporary solution rather than a permanent one, so addressing the major issue of global climate change ought to remain the primary focus.

]]>
http://marlonreviews.com.au/marlon-kobacker-reviews-efforts-to-stem-impact-of-climate-change-on-great-barrier-reef/feed/ 0